MTSU I/O Student #1 Nationally (Again!)

Skiorski MattCongratulations to MTSU I/O student Matthew Sikorski for winning the prestigious national outstanding graduate student of the year award from the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)!

Matthew was up against both doctoral and master’s students across the U.S. from all HR-related fields. SHRM typically receives 150+ nominations and only selects between 2-4 for its award each year, and Matthew was selected this year. Other winners in recent years have come from places like Cornell, Columbia, Rice, and U. Michigan.

MTSU’s I/O Psychology program has the unprecedented distinction of three students earning this top national award within the past six years (and 4 within the past 15 years).

Congratulations to Matthew, and to the many other MTSU I/O Psychology graduate students whose dedicated efforts have achieved sustained excellence and national prominence.


Another National Award

Congratulations to our MTSU-SHRM chapter for earning the honor of Superior Merit Award from the national Society for Human Resource Management.

This award recognizes student chapter achievements and a commitment to providing meaningful programs and services to members. National SHRM sets high standards for this award, and selects only a limited number of chapters for this honor.

MTSU’s Industrial-Organizational Psychology students particularly distinguished themselves in leading our chapter to this award. This year’s achievement further enhances our decade-long reputation as one of the most acclaimed student chapters in the country.

Congratulations to all the students whose efforts made this achievement possible!

I/O Graduate Student of the Year

Every year the I/O faculty choose a 2nd year student in the program to receive the distinction of MTSU I/O Graduate Student of the Year. The criteria for this reward combines classroom performance, thesis progress, additional research accomplishments, applied performance in practicum and other projects, professional association involvement, and other reputable factors. This year the faculty chose Logan Watts to receive this distinction. Congratulations Logan and thank you for representing the program so well!

Congratulations Jaye Murray!

Jaye Murray, a second year in our program, was recently awarded one of the Society for Human Resource Management’s (SHRM) national outstanding graduate student of the year award. Jaye was selected among 140 nominations of both doctoral and master’s students across the United States.  Jaye is among two other MTSU I/O alumni who received the reward while they were working towards their master’s degree in our program. Congratulations Jaye!